Effective today, Canada Government has removed all countries from the designated country of origin list.  Previously claimants from 42 countries were subject to a 6- month bar on work permits, a bar on appeals at the Refugee Appeals Division and a 36- month bar on the Pre-Removal Risk Assessment. De-designating countries of origin has no impact on the Canada-US Safe Third Country Agreement so some who has claimed asylum in United States still cannot make a claim in Canada.

However, citizens from any of these 42 countries, for example, the United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, etc. will be treated the same as claimants from any other countries, i.e. they will be entitled to health care, work permit to work, 12- month bar on the Pre-Removal Risk Assessment, etc.

BPS has represented refugees from all over the world, if you are interested in this program, please kindly contact us at immi.info@bpsmigration.ca.